Review

REVIEW: What A Lady Requires by Ashlyn Macnamara

What a Lady Requires

 

Perfect for fans of Julia Quinn, Eloisa James, and Sabrina Jeffries, Ashlyn Macnamara’s blazing hot novel tells the story of mismatched newlyweds who discover a simmering connection.

Unlike every other proper young lady, Miss Emma Jennings views marrying well as little more than a means to an end. Such a merger would provide her industrious father with social credibility, and Emma with a chunk of her vast inheritance. Emma’s practical views are shattered, however, when her father ties her to the fabulously handsome ne’er-do-well Rowan Battencliffe, a man she loathes on sight—from the smile that promises all manner of wickedness to the way he ogles her with those striking blue eyes.

Deep in debt, especially to his wine merchant, Rowan figures the sooner he gets his finances in order, the sooner he can go back to doing what he does best: burning through ridiculous sums of cash. Which is why Rowan agrees to marry the merchant’s daughter, a prim and proper woman with delightful curves and an ample dowry. But Emma seems to think it’s her business to reform him! Their marriage is a tinderbox—and it’s just too tempting to resist playing with fire.

Praise for Ashlyn Macnamara

“Ashlyn Macnamara is a born storyteller, weaving tales rich in angst, humor, and history as she treats readers to the steamier side of Regency. Her inventive prose has secured her a place on my auto-buy list, and her memorable characters have secured a place in my heart. Don’t forget to set your morning alarm, though . . . you’ll be reading long past your bedtime!”New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Jennifer McQuiston

“Ashlyn Macnamara brings all the elegance and romance of the Regency to life.”New York Times bestselling author Tessa Dare

Includes a special message from the editor, as well as an excerpt from another Loveswept title.

ADRI’S REVIEW:

As always I want to first thank Random House Loveswept and NetGalley for providing us with a copy of this book so that we can bring you this review.

As many of you know I have read the first two books in this series in the past and couldn’t wait to see what was up with Rowan Battencliffe. See in the first two books we are introduced to him and know there is more to him then we are being told. So I couldn’t wait until I could dive into his story. And I wasn’t at all disappointed. I was also surprised to see that there really was so much more to his past then what we had been told. Even though we knew from the second book in the series that Lind hadn’t completely ruined Battencliffe like he could, we were left curious on knowing how it came to be that he’d hurt Lind so deeply when it was supposed to be one of his best friends. Oh do we ever find out… but I won’t give that away you will have to wait and read it yourself.

Emma is a great character with such a strong head on her shoulders. She is smart, strong and inventive. She is able to help Rowan, but not in the way that they both thought or expected. And in the process she begins to find something she thought was going to be a lost cause for her.

Even though a big part of me knows that now that all three friends have found their lady loves, a big part of me hopes this series isn’t over. I would love to fall in love with more characters as well written and these.

I have this book five very sloppy kisses.

Happy Reading… Adri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

19 − seventeen =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.