Review

Review: The Reluctant Duchess by Sharon Cullen

The-Reluctant-Duchess_Cullen-e1436916891403sassysynopsis4

Perfect for fans of Mary Balogh and Eloisa James, Sharon Cullen’s seductive new historical romance ignites as a shy country girl and a hotheaded duke surrender to dangerous temptations.

Lady Sara Emerson was jolted out of her dull provincial life by her cousin’s murder. Now that the killer seems to be targeting her, Sara seeks help from the man who was once her cousin’s fiancé, Gabriel Ferguson, Duke of Rossmoyne. With his towering frame and fiery personality, Ross cuts an intimidating figure. Living under his protection, however, has its own hazards—like the sudden urge Sara feels to take their relationship in new, exquisitely inappropriate directions.

Dazzled by the social graces of his betrothed, Ross never noticed her shy, blushing cousin. Looking at Sara now, though, he’s drawn to her lovely eyes and calm disposition. Funny how a year away from the hustle and bustle of the ton changes a man. But Ross has no intention of allowing a woman to interfere with his plan to return overseas. He will simply capture the murderer and set sail once again. The problem is, with her beguiling lips and heavenly touch, Sara makes him never want to leave home—or his bed—again.

sassybuylinks

Amazon : iBooks : B&N : Kobo : Goodreads

 

sassyauthorinfo

(All information obtained from the authors website)

Bios are the hardest things to write. I always want to be interesting and make it sound like I’m a world traveler. Unfortunately I’m not a world traveler. Yet. And I like to think I’m witty but my bio doesn’t seem so witty. So here is an unofficial bio–bulleted and in list form.

1. I wrote my first book when I was nine years old. It was about a girl and her horse and it was written on a flip top spiral notebook. I designed and drew the cover myself.

2. I attended three high schools and met my husband on the first day of my third high school. I’m not uber-religious but I believe that God had a hand in that.

3. When I was thirty-three I decided to get serious about my life-long dream of publishing a book. I gave myself a deadline of four years to get published. I figured people earn a college degree in four years and that should be adequate time for me to learn to write a novel.

4. My first published book, A Forever Kind of Thing, was published four years after I started writing.

5. I have three very talented kids. One is talented in music, another in writing (hmmmm) and another in sports.

6. I love dogs. If I could I would adopt every homeless dog out there.

OFFICIAL BIO

After earning a degree in journalism from Ohio University, Sharon found the stories inside her head were more interesting than what was going on in the world around her. Yet, it wasn’t until years later that she decided to pursue her secret dream of writing a romance novel. Since then she’s been published in romantic suspense, paranormal romance, contemporary romance and historical romance.

Sharon’s other job descriptions include chauffeur, laundress, cook and mediator to her three very busy kids, her husband and two dogs. She lives in southwest Ohio with her brood although her dream is to someday retire to St. Maarten and live on the beach.

If you’d like to find out more about Sharon and her books, you can visit her at her website. She’s addicted to social networking so you can find her on Facebook and TwitterFriend her! Like her! Follow her! She’d love to hang out with you and talk about her passion—books.

sassyreview

Thanks go first to Netgalley and Random House Loveswept for providing us with a copy of this book so that we could bring you this review.

I have to say this was a great read for me. It fed my need to get historical as well as gave me some adventure. This book was suspenseful and full of mystery. I know that both Ross and Sara were strongly affected by the fact that Meredith was murdered. Then to have that same person contacting Sara it was so scary for Sara. I loved that Ross was there to save her as well as to show her that she could love and that could be loved. It was also a great way for Ross to know that he was worthy of Sara, even after what happened towards the end with Meredith. I have to day that Sara was actually a very strong willed character and extremely brave for enduring everything that she did. And Ross is so open to yielding to her without actually losing his Alpha male status.

I give this book 4 strong kisses…

Happy Reading… Adri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

thirteen − 1 =