Review

REVIEW: Highland Heat by Jennifer Haymore

Highland heatsassysynopsis4

Perfect for readers of Maya Banks and Monica McCarty, Jennifer Haymore’s seductive new Highland Knights novel begins with an electrifying tale of class warfare, fierce loyalties, and forbidden love.

With blood still drying on the front lines at Waterloo, Lady Grace Carrington helps an injured soldier to a British medical tent. Though she believes she’s pulled him to safety, in fact she has put them both in grave danger: Because when his brilliant blue eyes meet hers, the passionate Scottish sergeant kisses her in a way that leaves her breathless and trembling. As the obedient daughter of an earl, Grace shouldn’t be tempted by someone so far below her station. But as a red-blooded woman, she longs for so much more.

As far as Duncan Mackenzie is concerned, getting stabbed in the arm was the best thing that ever happened to him. When he wakes on the battlefield, the sight of Grace’s lovely face sets his soul aflame. As an enlisted man and a farmer’s son, however, pursuing his guardian angel means facing the wrath of London society, not to mention his own superiors in the British Army. Aye, but he’d risk all that and more just to keep her in his arms.

THE HIGHLAND KNIGHTS SERIES:

1: A HIGHLANDER’S HEART (Lady Claire & Major Campbell)
2: HIGHLAND HEAT (Lady Grace & Mackenzie)
3: HIGHLAND AWAKENING (Lady Esme & MacLeod)
3.5: HER WICKED HIGHLANDER (Aila & White)
4: HIGHLAND TEMPTATION (Lady Emilia & Stirling)

 

 

 

sassybuylinks

Amazon : B&N : Kobo : iBooks : All Romance : Google Play

 

sassyexcerpt

(Excerpt obtained from authors website)

Grace shook her head and smiled, concentrating on the finishing touches of the bandage.When she was done, she sat back on her heels, her cheeks tingling with heat, unable to look at him. She’d never felt so comfortable in a man’s presence before. She’d never felt so unsettled in a man’s presence, either.

Duncan was different from any other male she’d ever encountered. He did something to her, something that made her feel . . . well, simply delicious.

His finger pressed beneath her chin, forcing her to look up at him. He leaned forward to whisper into her ear. “I want to kiss you again.”

She jolted back in surprise, but he held her firm. “Come with me,” he said quietly. “Tell your sister you’re takin’ some air.”

Looking at him wide-eyed, she nodded.

They rose and headed toward the exit. As she passed by Claire, who was doctoring Lieutenant Ross’s torso—he’d been clipped by a bullet in the waist—she murmured, “I’m going out to take some air.”

Claire nodded but hardly spared her a glance, so intent was her focus on the red-haired lieutenant. Claire possessed a rather odd fascination with the art of doctoring, so it didn’t surprise Grace that she had taken the responsibility for treating the men’s various ailments. Except for Duncan’s injury. Besides helping Grace fashion him a new sling, Claire had left his recovery entirely in Grace’s hands.

But as they passed the major, he scowled at them, his eyes narrowed at Duncan. Grace tried not to flinch away from the man. It seemed so strange to her that a man who at times didn’t seem to care one way or another about his own wife would give a fig about her interactions with one of his men.

But there was male logic for you, she thought. In some warped way, he felt it was his duty to protect his sister-in-law’s virtue.

“I need ye back in ten minutes, Mackenzie,” he said roughly.

“Aye, sir.” Duncan’s voice was mild, as if he hadn’t noticed the major’s glare or ominous tone. He must have, though—they were impossible to miss.

Grace followed Duncan out onto the deck. It would have been a warm day on the Channel if not for the biting northeasterly breeze. She wrapped her arms over her chest and shuddered as the wind threatened to tug her hair from its pins. It was good she wasn’t wearing a bonnet, because it would have caught the air and blown off straightaway.
Duncan turned back to her, then frowned, seeing her shiver. In a flash, his coat was off and over her shoulders.

“Oh, I don’t need—”

“Come,” he said, placing the flat of his hand at the small of her back, “let’s get you out o’ the cold.”
He turned and entered the forward cabin, where the hold was located. But instead of taking her into the hold, he opened a door and led her into a small room so full of wooden barrels there was hardly enough space to stand.
She opened her mouth to ask what the barrels were for, but before she could speak, his good arm went around her. He hauled her to him.

“Oh,” she gasped, instantly overwhelmed by the feel of a hard male body pressing against her. She stared up at his rough, masculine face.

“You’re driving me mad, lass,” he murmured.

Then his lips were on hers, and she was lost. There was nothing but the feel of him surrounding her, the heat of his mouth, the sensuous slide of his lips over hers. He tasted delicious, like heat and pleasure and sensuality, like nothing she’d ever imagined before. She opened her lips to let out a breathy sigh, and he slipped his tongue into her mouth and she groaned instead.

Was this how it was done? She knew a kiss consisted of one person’s lips pressed against another’s. She’d seen a few kisses in her life. But this . . . this was . . . Oh, God. Deep, erotic pleasure. And as he explored her mouth with his tongue, she bunched his shirt in her hands and held on as a heavy pressure built between her legs.

His hand slid down her back, trailing over the dozen cloth-covered buttons that lined her spine. And then he cupped her bottom in his big hand and pressed her tighter against him.

A deep shudder pulsed through her. God . . . this was . . . this was . . . It was nearly too much. Too intense. Every part of her body, inside and out, was alive and tingling with an ache almost too sweet to comprehend.

And then she felt it—the hard ridge of his male flesh pressing against her lower stomach.

She jerked back.

What in heaven’s name was she doing? This wasn’t her. This wasn’t even possible.

She gazed at him, breathing hard, her lips parted, her eyes wide. “What are we doing?” she whispered. “What are you doing to me?”

He stared back at her. “I canna resist you, Grace.” He blew out a slow breath. “Worse, I dinna wish to.”

 

sassyauthorinfo

(all information obtained from authors website)

Jennifer HaymoreUSA Today bestselling author Jennifer Haymore is the author of sexy historical and contemporary romance.

You can find Jennifer in Southern California trying to talk her husband into yet another trip to England, helping her three children with homework while brainstorming a new five-minute dinner menu, or crouched in a corner of the local bookstore writing her next novel.

 

 

 

 

 

sassyreview

As always thanks go first to NetGalley, Random House Loveswept and in this case Amazon as it was the site I bought my pleasure read copy from.

I have loved this author from the first book I ever read of hers. So when I saw this book I knew it was one I had to dive into. And I am so happy that I did. I adored it. I loved that even though Grace was a lady and a blue blood as they would have referred to it back then, she wasn’t afraid to dive in and help after Waterloo. She didn’t look down on Duncan because he wasn’t on her same economic level. She saw his like the great Scottish soldier that he was. The strong man that she saw had nothing to do with his rank or his place in society. And to me that added to the amazingness that was Grace. I thought it was funny that the one who really had a problem with all of it was not Grace but Duncan. He didn’t see himself as good enough for Grace when that was the furthest thing from the truth. But you could clearly see what an honorable man he was and how much he cared for Grace almost from minute one that they met. I won’t lie and say that there weren’t parts that broke my heart especially with the secondary characters, but they were also parts that made you want to know more about those characters. So be sure that I will be looking forward to reading more about each of the characters as the proceeding books become available.

I give this 5 hot kisses…

Happy Reading… Adri

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

one × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.